ANU painting postgraduate blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Scan Future Readings

picture-7Image from A Tiling Database.

As you see I’ve been able to include Kabir’s  text; The Magi and the Desi on the blog but not Kerry’s; Ornament and Abstraction. I would like to put all future readings on the blog. This way everyone including off-campus students can easily access them and they remain for continued reference.

Texts would need to be scanned to a disc as a pdf. The scanner in the Painting office could be used. I haven’t yet checked with him but I think Kabir would advise if you need some help.

Jude and Ella are choosing texts for Fri 29th May.

The following reading group is not until Fri 31 July, Vanessa is providing the text for Group 2 but I don’t have a name for Group 1….Viv

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | administration, Reading 2, Reading 3, reading group | , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Hi Viv,
    The trouble you are having with your images overlapping the side bars is due to the images needing resizing in photoshop before insertion to fit the narrow width of the blog field.
    Maybe an alternative theme with more room for images in the post field would suit the site better. Cutline is a good one. I am still happy to be a co-admin person for the site, you just need to change my settings. I have a scanner at home if you would like me to scan in Kerry’s reading to create a PDF. It needn’t miss out on being accessible for comments.

    Comment by vanessa | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s really strange because the images are fine on my computer at home so I don’t know what you mean by saying they overlap the side bars. I actually sized the image to fit. It actually looks beautiful on my computer. Or are you talking about my blog? it looks fine too.
    I think we should sit down together and work out what’s happening.
    I thought you could put a scanned reading on as an author. It says authors can upload files. Anyway I’ve changed you over to editor see if that role enables you to do it. It should according to the description. If not I’ll change it again.
    Talk to you soon.

    Comment by Vivienne | April 28, 2009 | Reply

    • Adam said editor is simply being able to edit posts rather than admin which can change settings on the blog. Do you know if Kerry is planning on scanning in her readings? I haven’t actually done it just in case someone else already has.

      Comment by vanessa | April 28, 2009 | Reply

      • Hi Vanessa and Adam
        Kerry may not as she’s already done all the photocopying and distributed them. I’ve posted them to off-campus people.
        Kabir scanned his and I put it on the blog. its pretty straightforward.

        I’ve been following the information in the SUPPORT section which is reached from the dashboard from the drop down menu under ‘My account’. Here is what it says about User Roles; There are four roles: Administrator, Editor, Author, and Contributor.

        Administrator
        An administrator can do everything. Complete power over posts/pages, comments, settings, theme choice, import, users – the whole shebang. Nothing is off-limits, including deleting the entire blog.

        Editor
        An editor can publish, edit, and delete any posts/pages, moderate comments, manage categories, manage tags, manage links and upload files.

        Author
        An author can edit, publish and delete their posts and they can upload files.

        Contributor
        A contributor can edit their posts but cannot publish. Once a contributor’s post is approved by an administrator and published, however, it may no longer be edited by the contributor.

        I’ve switched you to editor so just to humour me could you have a go at uploading the scanned file. I’d like to see what the different roles are actually able to do
        Authors should be able to upload files according to the above.

        Gosh! Plenty to learn
        Viv

        Comment by Vivienne | April 28, 2009

  3. Hi Vanessa,
    I’ve got a large screen at home and i tested by pulling the corner in to make the window smaller and sure enough the image of tiles didn’t ajust. Are you on a large screen?

    Comment by Vivienne | April 28, 2009 | Reply

    • I have a tiny little laptop!

      Comment by vanessa | April 28, 2009 | Reply

      • Guess that’s it. wonder what we can do to make the blog fit any screen. I’ll talk to Megan Poor and mess around a bit more when I can. amazing what you can solve by messin around. cheers

        Comment by Vivienne | April 28, 2009

  4. Hi Viv and All

    Just to let you know that I have finally made contact with the blog site and have been having a good look around.

    Thank you all for the comments and posts. I have managed to print of group 1’s reading.

    ria

    Comment by Ria Vlavianos | April 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Welcome, great you’re aboard Ria.

      Comment by Vivienne | April 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

