ANU painting postgraduate blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Postgrad intensive- week of May 27-29 2009

Thinking ahead to the next intensive week, I’d like to get a sense of how you all would like to do things this time around. Me feeling is these weeks are a chance for everyone to touch base and have a look at work in progress, raise discussion about the programme, give us feedback etc as well as the scheduled Reading group etc. We do need to plan venues for any work-in-progress presentations- I’m assuming for those whose studios are in town that we can look at actual work, but for those itinerants(!) it might be still a matter of showing images on screen.

We can use the Drawing Room and upstairs foyer spaces to hang work for discussion, and in some cases it might be viable to have a session in your studio- if it is large enough to fit the group, plus a few honours people who like to come along sometimes. Also, how long do each of you want for this kind of session?- please be mindful of timing as I think we need to be much stricter about staying on schedule this time- but I think that will be much easier now we have had that preliminary intro to everyone.

Maybe I’ll get Leah Bullen to send out a proposed schedule of times for WIP presentations and you can choose a time which suits. I assume we will have reading groups on the Friday usual time.

Are there any suggestions as to other things you might do that week- eg. social stuff, discussion, meetings  or maybe screenings of interesting material-( dvds) on artists or things related to your research ??? Maybe we need time for you to meet in smaller groups or one-on-one for more focussed discussion in your studios?  We’d like the programme to be driven by your interests and preferences so please let us know what you think will work most effectively to make the programme as useful to you as possible. Anyway- give all this some thought and get back to me with your ideas….thanks, Ruth

May 2, 2009 - Posted by | Postgrad intensive | , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Maybe shorter time slots for presentations, as we don’t have to give so much background, plus we need to fit in the reading group meetings… 20 minutes? It would be good to have dinner too.

    Comment by Julie | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Ruth

    Unfortunately I wont be able to make it to Canberra 27th-29th, however I will be coming on the 13th-17th May. Will email you this week, Ruth.

    Definately be available next semester for an intensive. Its quite a large group is it better to split into two groups so there’s more time to consider work and make responses. Just a thought.

    Comment by peteranu | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi All

    Shorter time slots would be good, but we would all have to stick to the time schedule.

    I like the idea of small groups, but over a three day period it would be good to move between groups so that we get to hear feedback from every one.

    If we were to have 20 min (or shorter) WIP talks – a trek out to ANCA for everyone might not be so good and transportation might be a difficult – so having thought about this, it might be easier to bring my work into Uni – I am happy to use the drawing room or another sight.

    Social activity – I know that this might seem daggy, but is anyone interested in a going to a pub for drinks and a meal, say at Debarcle.

    Other activities – Currently at the NGA the soft sculpture exhibition is on. Feedback on this exhibition has been good – not sure if anyone else might like to see it.

    Cheers Ria

    Comment by Ria Vlavianos | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. 20 to 30 minute time slots should not be a problem if there is an allocated time keeper to give a signal at 5 minutes before the end of the talk and give 10 minutes for questions at the end. It is called time management and requires discipline. Even though it is a large group I am very interested in attending everyone’s presentation.

    Comment by Aria | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. I agree that strictly chaired time slots would be good. Thus I have a dilemma when I would like to have the group visit my studio rather than bring the heavy heavy work into the drawing room, so I propose for the out of ANU studios-a last session slot, maybe at 3.30 or 4pm on each day. I am able to run a taxi service for 4 people. I am happy to bribe the group with drinks and nibbles afterwards.Also it would be good to keep the Thursday 3pm time free for Nigel’s post-grad program. Is a painter scheduled that day? If not could they schedule themselves?
    Nicky

    Comment by nickyjdickson | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. Perhaps the empty studio at Lennox (Eugene’s) could be used as a display space for work that’s awkward to transport – it has good walls and no furniture to get in the way.

    I’ve just realised I won’t be able to get to things after 2:45 on thurs and fri that week – single parenting.

    Julie

    Comment by Julie | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  7. Most of my recent work will be hanging in a group exhibition at the alliance francaise opening next Thursday the 14th May at 6:30 (please come along), so I will present a powerpoint in the seminar room as hopefully most of you will come to the show (up until the 10th June). The pub sounds good.

    Comment by vanessa | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  8. I’d like to use the drawing room. Pub and dinner definitely a good idea.

    Comment by Julie | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  9. I forgot to distinguish, by seminar room I hoped for the library one as the computer is online (I think), I would like to present my blog as part of the presentation (will inquire with library staff about this).

    Comment by vanessa | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  10. As before I’ll be using a ppt to show images!

    Comment by pyapya | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  11. I have some small watercolours I can pin on a wall so Drawing room would be fine for me too. Pub dinner sounds like a fine idea but Debacle can be very noisy and sometimes the footie is screened (maybe that’s a GOOD thing). Is Tilly’s quiet these days? Failing a quiet pub (contradition?) what about the Vietnamese restaurant in Dickson Ruth?

    Comment by Jude | May 10, 2009 | Reply

  12. Any of the three days would suit me for a booking. I can show in the spare room at Lennox. A group gathering in the evening would be a good idea too; I’ll follow advice about location, but noisy venues, I’ve had enough of that!
    Liz

    Comment by Liz | May 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

