ANU painting postgraduate blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

2010 plans- how does this sound?

Welcome back, happy new year etc!!!

Thinking about how to start the year- we have scheduled a 3 morning symposium Wed-Fri 10-12 March focussing on the Paris Musee D’Orsay show and painting as a material process- key speaker will be visiting UK scholar Anthea Callen who will be with us for the six weeks of Block one. (also includes Jude Rae, Liz Coats, Kevin Malloy, Viv Binns, Ruth Waller) (details to follow)

Thought it might be a good idea to run the first Intensive on Monday, Tuesday 15,16th March flowing on from the symposium and with Suzanne Moss and Nicky Dickson‘s PhD shows opening on Wed 17th March. Let me know what you think of this schedule. I hope as many people as possible might be able to be here from 10th- 17th?

If it seems like a good idea we will schedule a selection of those of you who’d like to present, and introduce our new people.

Feedback appreciated!

see you all soon!

Ruth

January 27, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. fine with me

    Comment by vanessa | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. sounds good

    Comment by Julie | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. Just remembered – I can’t make Monday

    Comment by Julie | January 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Julie, Hope you had a good summer. Thanks for the reply- we will have to see how the responses go – it would be a shame for you to miss a day.

      While I’m about it- assuming you are still interested in the Teaching assistant role- I am think 4hrs per week for 6 weeks (it pays around $30 something ph from memory) . Thought maybe you could work with Anthea on Thursdays with Third yrs 9am-1pm?

      How about we have a meeting next Friday Feb 12 at 9am to run through the plans so far.

      Also hope you might make the opening at CMAG this Friday- Jude and are having our mini-survey shows… Also if you want a studio visit , it would be good to get together in the next couple of weeks before the madness- but then you may have had (quite sensibly) some time off over summer, just let me know,

      best, Ruth

      see you soon,

      Comment by walleroo | January 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. That sounds fine with me.

    Comment by Aria | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hi Ruth et al’,

    No worries with dates for me. Will the symp include a group visit to the show?

    Kerry

    Comment by kerryannie | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  6. hi All

    you’re probably wondering what happened to me after I burst briefly in on your scene last year… After spending some brief time in the studio with Julie, Vanessa and Suzanne in the latter part of last year I had to retreat to deal with writing commitments which have occupied my time fully up into now.

    Am sorry I haven’t managed to make proper acquaintance with those of you I contacted briefly last year. Now we’re into the swing of the teaching year I’m hoping to juggle my teaching in anthropology with perhaps a day a week pursuing my interests I’ve discussed with some of you on the relationship between painters and their (your) pictures. Realistically in the first instance this will mean continuing to work with a small number of people, with the hope that in the longer term I can expand the project.

    I wonder if you’d be happy for me to drop in on part of your symposium next week, especially the Wednesday morning?

    with best wishes to all, Melinda Hinkson

    Comment by Melinda Hinkson | March 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Melinda You’re very welcome to attend.
      You may also like to come to Anthea Callen’s Lecture tomorrow (Wednesday 3/3/10) at 11am in the SoA Lecture Theatre. See post.

      Comment by Vivienne | March 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

